About MPG

About the Music Producers Guild

Welcome to the Music Producers Guild website – here you’ll find the latest news and announcements, along with information on upcoming events.

Who are we?

The Music Producers Guild was started and is supported by producers, mixers, recording engineers, re-mixers and programmers who are passionate about all aspects of making and recording music. It is a not-for-profit company and is run by volunteers from the membership. Our Members’ Directory is accessible to the public and features the profiles of some of the MPG full members, whilst the Studio Membership section features the profiles of our studio members.

Our aims are to support our members in their careers, campaign for the rights of music industry workers, promote diversity within the industry and to celebrate the achievements of our members through our annual MPG Awards.

We see it as providing a community for us to share our collective experience and collaborate with other like-minded people.

What do we do?

Formed as a Guild rather than a Trade Association, MPG has no party political agenda, but we do represent our community to government so that our voice is heard. Individually, and through membership of UK Music and the CMM, we lobby the government on matters that affect our members, including Brexit, self-employed issues, and Covid-19 support. We also support members in their dealings with local government and devolved administrations.

We also encourage and support discussion and development within our community through various events, sub-groups such as the Mastering, Pro Tools and Logic user groups, and joint events with other industry trade bodies.


The MPG is a member of and sits on the board of UK Music the umbrella organisation which represents the collective interests of the UK’s world-leading music industry.

The MPG also is a Liaison Member of DDEX the body bringing standardisation to the digital music value chain enabling credits to flow easily in a digital world.


We are (amongst many others)

Brian Eno Steph Marziano Catherine Marks Ethan Johns
Manon Grandjean Kirsty Whalley Jake Gosling Imogen Heap
Fraser T Smith Nile Rodgers Paul Epworth John Leckie
Tom Dalgety Matt Colton Marta Salogni Roni Size
Sylvia Massy Mandy Parnell Tony Visconti Mark ‘Spike’ Stent


Are you a member? If not, why not?


Who should join?

Membership is open to all producers, engineers, mixers, re-mixers, programmers, sound designers, mastering engineers, students, enthusiasts – everyone who shares our delight in the possibilities of music and audio.

We have tried to structure membership to reflect this attitude of inclusion by offering a tier of membership to suit all levels of involvement and budget whilst respecting and honouring the commitment, dedication and creativity those at the top of the profession display.