About The MPG Awards 2024

Now in its sixtieth year, the Music Producers Guild Awards has recognised and celebrated some of the most remarkable and exciting talent in the history of music recording.

MPG Awards Nominations are Open

The next MPG awards will be held on 25th April 2024.

Public nominations are open from
10am 27th November to Midnight 13th December 2023.

This year’s eligibility period is for releases from
1st October 2022 to 30th September 2023.

The MPG aims to recognise tomorrow’s greats as well as more established industry players and greatly encourages nominations from music industry professionals as well as the general public. Anyone can submit a name against any of the 14 award categories and have a say on who they think deserves to win one of these acclaimed accolades. (the remaining Awards are in the gift of the MPG)

A few changes this year:
We have a new website from Awards Force for submitting that will make nominating a whole lot easier.

There is a change from ‘Dolby Atmos Mix of The Year’ award, to ‘Dolby Atmos Mixer Of the Year’ to recognise the ongoing excellence of Mixers with a body of work in this maturing field.

In a change to the criteria this year for “Studio of The Year” any studio that has won in the last 3 years will be deemed ineligible. Ineligible studios for 2024 are: 2023 winner RAK Studios. 2022 winner Abbey Road Studios, 2021 Winner Parr Street Studios.


Previous MPG Award winners include Inflo, Kid Harpoon, Hannah Peel, Fiona Cruickshank, Bob Clearmountain, Dan Carey, Dani Bennett Spragg, Skepta, Youth, Paul Epworth, FKA Twigs, Roni Size, Marta Salogni and Joan Armatrading.

Nominations are the first stage in the MPG’s thorough Awards process. Once names are submitted and checked as eligible against each Award criterion, MPG Full Members vote to create a shortlist, which is presented to the judging panel and announced to the press and public in April. Winners are then announced at the ceremony in June.

Click here to make your submissions now!


See all last year’s winners here

The MPG Awards process is conducted in three distinct stages:

1. Nominations: this is simply the collection of suggestions of possible candidates for each award category. Anyone may submit any potential candidate, and candidates may submit themselves. Nominations does not constitute any kind of status; it is merely a process of adding names to the list of those who will be presented for voting.

2. Voting for the shortlisted nominations: this is the privilege of the Full Members of the MPG, who are all working professionals, i.e. producers, engineers, mixers, etc. and who vote to create the shortlists of three nominations per award, which are presented to the judging panel for the final selection of the winners. Just as in 2022, the MPG’s studio members will also be able to nominate engineers or assistant engineers to participate in the voting.

3. Judging: the judging panel is made up of record producers, recording engineers, mixers, re-mixers, record company A&R people, publishers, broadcasters and journalists. Their responsibility is to discuss the relative merits of the shortlisted nominations and ultimately vote for the winners of each MPG Award.