2011 extras

The Judging Panel

Judging for the winners took place at West London’s Kore Studios, winners of the 2010 Best Studio Award.

The judging panel, comprising some 20 record producers, recording engineers, A&R, music broadcasters and journalists, gathered to consider the various merits of the shortlisted nominees, as voted for by the Full Members of the MPG. After listening to music tracks submitted on behalf of all the nominees, and reading testimonial material, the final votes were cast, and were kept under wraps until the evening of the awards event at Cafe de Paris, in Central London on February 9th.

The judging panel included:

Producers/enigneers: Steve Levine, Mick Glossop, Tony Platt, Haydn Bendall, Richard Lightman, Gareth Jones, Dan Grech, Ray Staff

A&R: Jim Chancellor (Fiction Records), Ben Durling (Warner Music)

BBC broadcasters: Janice Long, Richard Allinson (Radio 2), Gideon Coe, Chris Hawkins (6 Music)

Journalists: Andrew Harrison (The Word), Sam Inglis (Sound On Sound),

others: Alan Cowderoy (producer manager), Tony Wadsworth (chairman of the BRITs), Mike Banks (Recordproduction website)

Press releases

NME / The Mirror / Pro Sound News / Contact Music / CMU / Belfast Telegraph / Glamour Magazine

Gigwise / BBC news online / Music Week / Songlink / Fast And Wide / Antimusic / This Is London

Moldova / MI2N / College Basketball / Sound-on-Sound / Audio Pro