news category MPG Awards created 28 August 2018

The Music Producers Guild Opens Submissions For Its 2019 Awards

The Music Producers Guild is opening Submissions for its 2019 Awards on September 3rd and is calling on all recording professionals, their management companies and the public at large to get onboard and submit the names of people they think are worthy of one of these prestigious gongs.

Running until midnight (23:59) on September 15th, this year’s window for Submissions is shorter than in previous years and for this reason the MPG is encouraging people to act quickly so that they avoid disappointment.

With a roll call of previous award winners that includes Sir George Martin CBE, YouthPaul Epworth, FKA Twigs, Brian Eno, Roni Size, Catherine Marks, Trevor Horn and Dave Stewart, the MPG Awards are widely regarded as a key event in the UK music industry calendar. Their aim is to recognise and reward the best and brightest talent in music recording, along with the industry’s rising stars.

Submissions are the first stage in the MPG’s robust Awards process. Anyone can submit a name to 13 of the Award categories (the remaining Awards are in the gift of the MPG). Once names are submitted and checked as eligible against each Award criterion, MPG Full Members vote to create a shortlist, which is presented to the judging panel in December.  Existing members who wish to upgrade to Full Member status should log into the MPG site and go to MY ACCOUNT/MEMBERSHIP DETAILS in the menu bar.

“The MPG has worked tirelessly to raise the status of the UK’s highly skilled recording professionals and our Awards, which over 10 years have built up an integrity respected throughout the production community, are hugely important in championing their creativity and talent,” says Tony Platt, Managing Director of MPG Awards. “Submissions have increased every year, as have the number of musical genres represented, but there is always room for more. The MPG would like to encourage as many people as possible to take part – both in the submissions process and as voting Full Members – so that we have a truly diverse range of recording professionals in with a chance of winning.”

The window of opportunity runs from September 3rd to midnight (23:59) on September 15thand there are 13 categories where anyone can submit a name. The link to upload your submissions is here:

and the MPG strongly advises that recording professionals put forward their own names rather than waiting for someone else to do it for them.

The 2019 Music Producers Guild Awards will take place on February 28th 2019 at the prestigious Grosvenor House, Park Lane, London. For the second year running – and back by popular demand – broadcaster and breakfast show presenter Shaun Keaveny will host the Awards.

The MPG 2019 Awards categories open for public submission are:

UK Producer Of The Year

International Producer Of The Year, sponsored by RME

Breakthrough Producer Of The Year, sponsored by Focusrite

Recording Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by AMS Neve

Breakthrough Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Genelec

Self-Producing Artist Of The Year, sponsored by Spitfire Audio

Mix Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Miloco Studios

Mastering Engineer Of The Year

Re-mixer Of The Year

UK Album Of The Year, sponsored by Universal Audio

UK Single Song Release Of The Year, sponsored by Shure

Studio Of The Year, sponsored by Soundgas

The A&R Award

The MPG 2019 Awards categories in the gift of the MPG are:

The MPG Inspiration Award, sponsored by Audio Note

PPL Present The MPG Award For Outstanding Contribution To UK Music, sponsored by PPL

The Special Recognition Award

Tickets for the 2019 MPG Awards go on sale at 9.00 on September 3rd and there will be a limited window of opportunity for MPG members to buy super-discounted tickets. This window closes at midnight (23:59) on Sunday, September 9th, with general ticket sales starting at 9.00 on Monday September 10th. At that point the only discount on offer will be the usual reduction for MPG members. For price information and bookings, please follow this link:

Sponsorship opportunities to suit all budgets are also available for this exciting event. Companies that would like to discuss this should contact MPG Awards Event Organiser Adam Cuthbertson.

Telephone: +44 (0) 207 127 2010.

MPG Members…

To keep up to date with all MPG News and Events, please check back regularly.