news category MPG Awards created 11 November 2019

Shortlist announced for the MPG Awards 2020!

The Music Producers Guild is excited to announce the shortlist for its 2020 Awards, which will take place at Grosvenor House, Park Lane, London on 27th February.

With names such as Stormzy, IDLES, Marta Salogni and Nigel Godrich all featuring alongside each other this year’s list is one of the most diverse yet.

Dani Bennett Spragg Winner of Breakthrough Engineer Of The Year at the 2019 MPG Awards said; “I was really honoured to win Breakthrough Engineer of the Year at the 2019 awards. It felt great to be recognised for the work I’d done in the previous year and to be really welcomed into the industry.”

Once again there is a strong representation from female producers and engineers with Marta Salogni (Bjork, M.I.A) up for Breakthrough Producer Of The Year, Katie Tavini (Decca Records, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra) nominated for Mastering Engineer Of The Year, and Isabel Gracefield (Adele and Sam Smith) in line to receive Breakthrough Engineer Of The Year.

Other notable names on the 2020 shortlist include Cam Blackwood and Dan Carey who are all in the running for UK Producer Of The Year Award, Jon Hopkins, Matthew Herbert and UNKLE who are all up for Re-mixer Of The Year and Francis Rossi (Status Quo), George Daniel, Matthew Healy (The 1975) and James Blake who are shortlisted for Self-Producing Artist Of The Year.

Tony Platt, Managing Director of MPG Awards, adds: “”It is always an exciting moment when we are able to reveal the wealth of talent reflected in the shortlists. The judging day comes next and it is a testament to the respect with which these Awards are now regarded, how seriously our judging panel take their role in the process. Best of luck to all the nominees –  I wish they could all win!”

Now in its 12th year, the MPG Awards feature 15 award categories that celebrate the best and brightest talent in music production, along with the industry’s rising stars. Previous award winners have included Sir George Martin CBE, Skepta, FKA Twigs, Roni Size, Sylvia Massy, Brian Eno, Trevor Horn and Dave Stewart.

Final judging for the 2020 Awards will take place at Strongroom Studio on 3rd December 2019 and the winners will be announced at the Awards ceremony at Grosvenor House, Park Lane, London.

The shortlists for each of the MPG 2020 Awards categories (in no particular order) are as follows:

UK Producer Of The Year sponsored by Flare Audio
Cam Blackwood
Dan Carey
Nigel Godrich
Ben Baptie

Recording Engineer Of The Year sponsored by AMS Neve
Cameron Craig
Daniel Moyler
Mike Horner

Mix Engineer Of The Year sponsored by Miloco Studios
Dan Grech-Marguerat
David Wrench
Mark ‘Spike’ Stent

Re-mixer Of The Year
Jon Hopkins
Matthew Herbert

Breakthrough Producer Of the Year
Carey Willetts
Marta Salogni
Sam Petts-Davies

Self-Producing Artist Of The Year
Francis Rossi (Status Quo)
George Daniel, Matthew Healy (The 1975)
James Blake

Breakthrough Engineer Of The Year sponsored by Genelec
Billy Halliday
Caesar Edmunds
Isabel Gracefield

International Producer Of The Year
Danger Mouse
Finneas O’Connell
John Congleton

Mastering Engineer Of The Year sponsored by Steinberg
John Davis
Katie Tavini
Matt Colton

UK Album Of The Year sponsored by Daft Studios
Foals: ‘Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost’
IDLES: ‘Joy as an Act of Resistance’
The 1975: ‘A Brief Inquiry Into Online Relationships’

UK Single Song Release Of The Year sponsored by Shure
Marika Hackman: ‘i’m not where you are’
Radiohead: ‘Ill Wind’
Stormzy: ‘Vossi Bop’

The A&R Award sponsored by The Association of Independent Music (AIM)
Alex Gilbert
Ed Horrox
Jamie Nelson

Studio Of The Year
RAK Studios
Strongroom Studios
The Church Studios


The MPG 2020 Awards categories in the gift of the MPG are:

The MPG Inspiration Award sponsored by Audio Note
PPL Present The MPG Award For Outstanding Contribution To UK Music, sponsored by PPL
The Special Recognition Award sponsored by Jigsaw24

Tickets for the 2020 MPG Awards are now on sale. For price information and bookings, please follow this link:

Sponsorship opportunities to suit all budgets are also available for this exciting event. Companies that would like to discuss this should contact MPG Awards Event Organiser Adam Cuthbertson. Telephone: +44 (0) 207 127 2010.

MPG Members…

To keep up to date with all MPG News and Events, please check back regularly.