news category MPG Awards created 8 November 2015

The Shortlists for the MPG Awards 2016!


We’re excited and very pleased to announce the shortlists for the MPG Awards 2016! We think you’ll be excited too, when you see the varied lists of contenders and the very varied lists of recording artists involved.

The shortlists, as voted by Full Members of the Music Producers Guild are as follows:

UK Producer Of The Year, sponsored by The BRIT Awards

Charlie Andrew (Alt-J: ‘Every Other Freckle’)
Mark Ronson (Mark Ronson ‘Uptown Special”)
Mike Crossey (Wolf Alice ‘My Love Is Cool’)
Tom Dalgety (Royal Blood: ‘Royal Blood’)

International Producer Of The Year, sponsored by Pro Tools Expert

Bjork (Bjork ‘Vulnicura)’)
Max Martin (The Weeknd ‘Can’t Feel My Face’)
Robert John ‘Mutt’ Lange (Muse ‘Drones’)

Breakthrough Producer Of The Year, sponsored by Focusrite

Catherine Marks (Sunset Sons ‘Blondie’)
FKA Twigs (Tahliah Barnett) (FKA Twigs ‘LP1’)
Neil Comber (Django Django ‘First Light’)

Recording Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by AMS Neve

Dan Cox (Laura Marling ‘Short Movie’)
Guy Massey (Palma Violets: ‘Danger In The Club’)
Olga Fitzroy (Eliot Sumner ‘I Followed You Home’)

Breakthrough Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Musicguard Insurance

Ben Baptie (Lianne La Havas ‘Blood’)
Brett Cox (Marika Hackman ‘We Slept At Last’)
Drew Bang (Slaves ‘Are You Satisfied?’)

Mix Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Solid State Logic

Cenzo Townshend (The Maccabees: ‘Marks To Prove It’)
Craig Silvey (Florence And The Machine ‘How Big, How Blue, How Beautiful’)
David Wrench (Hot Chip ‘Why Make Sense?’)

Mastering Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Transco Blanx and Sadie

Barry Grint (Bert Jansch ‘Bert Jansch’ 2015 Remaster)
John Davis (Led Zeppelin ‘Presence’ 2015 Remaster)
Mandy Parnell (Jamie XX ‘In Colour’)

Re-mixer Of The Year, sponsored by Prism Sound

Four Tet (Kieran Hebden) (Hot Chip: ‘Need you now – Percussions Edit’)
UNKLE (James Lavelle) (London Grammar: ‘Hey Now – UNKLE remix’)
Jungle (Shura: ‘Indecision – Jungle Remix’)

UK Album Of The Year, sponsored by G-Technology and Jigsaw 24

‘LP1’ – FKA twigs
‘Uptown Special’ – Mark Ronson
‘Royal Blood’ – Royal Blood

UK Single Song Release Of The Year, sponsored by Shure

‘Regret’ – Everything Everything
‘Pendulum’ – FKA twigs
‘Ten Tonne Skeleton’ – Royal Blood

Studio Of The Year, sponsored by Avid

AIR Studios
Strongroom Studios
Urchin Studios

The A&R Award, sponsored by Blue Box Studios

Chris Briggs
Ollie Hodge

We’d love to see your comments – you can leave them in the MPG Forum.

mpg-awards-logo-2016Tickets for the MPG Awards event on February 3rd, 2016 at Grosvenor House are available here.

There are still some sponsorship opportunities available.
Please email Joe Edwards at OffBeat.

The official MPG press release:

The Music Producers Guild Announces its 2016 Awards Shortlist

Bjork, FKA Twigs and Mark Ronson all nominated for awards 

London, UK: Bjork, Mike Crossey (Wolf Alice, Jake Bugg, Foals), Catherine Marks (Howling Bells, Ian Brown, PJ Harvey, Depeche Mode) and Neil Comber, who has worked with over 25 top ten artists, are just some of the internationally acclaimed producers who have secured a coveted place on the Music Producers Guild 2016 Awards shortlist, which was announced today.

One debut album, by FKA Twigs (LP1) and number one albums from Mark Ronson (Uptown Special) and Royal Blood (Royal Blood), helped deliver nominations for an exceptionally diverse range of recording professionals, whose work encompasses a wide variety of musical styles and genres. The list also features renowned re-mixers Four Tet (Kieran Hebden) and UNKLE (James Lavelle).

There are five women nominated for awards this year who have worked with over 50 top ten artists between them. This includes Catherine Marks who is up for ‘Breakthrough Producer Of The Year’, Olga Fitzroy who is in the running for ‘Recording Engineer Of The Year’ and Mandy Parnell who is in the ‘Mastering Engineer Of The Year’ category.

Now in its eight year, the Music Producers Guild Awards will take place on 3rd February 2016 at Grosvenor House, Park Lane, London. The ceremony will feature 15 awards categories, recognising the best and brightest names in music production including the Producer of the Year, who will also be awarded the first BRIT Award.

Tony Platt, MPG Awards Group Director, says: “We are delighted that this year we have had a record number of submissions and the highest number of votes cast to form the shortlists. This has resulted in the strongest array of candidates since we started the event and the judging is going to be a serious task! We are proud that the MPG Awards truly reflects the wealth of creative talent in our industry and are looking forward to an exciting, star-studded evening in our new prestigious venue next February.”

MPG Members…

To keep up to date with all MPG News and Events, please check back regularly.