news category All News, MPG Awards created 13 January 2024






The MPG has announced the MPG Awards 2024. The first of the gifted awards is the legendary, 5 times Grammy Award winner, Alan Moulder. He will receive the prestigious MPG Icon Award, sponsored by SSL for his work with the likes of Depeche Mode, U2, My Bloody Valentine, Nine Inch Nails and The Smashing Pumpkins.

Nominations have doubled from last year, with 650 individual entrees. More than the total MPG membership. A combination of a new streamlined voting system and extensive social media campaign has helped with the rise and combined with the new increased capacity venue is a sign of things to come.

Alan Moulder commented: “It is such a great honour to be recognised for my contribution to our industry over the last forty years. This award is not just a celebration of my work but a testament to the transformative power of collaboration. Thank you to the Music Producers Guild, for this recognition and I look forward to the Awards evening at the Troxy on the 25th April.”

Ross Gilbert, SSL said: Solid State Logic extends congratulations to Alan Moulder for winning the MPG ‘Icons’ award. This recognition stands as a testament to his achievements as a producer and engineer, helping to create some of rock’s most iconic records.”

In their 16th year, the awards celebrate the best of UK Music Production talent working behind the scenes in the British music industry. This year sees the MPG partnering with Mix With The Masters, who will bring a fresh outlook in the MPG Awards content. This new partnership is great opportunity for Mix With The Masters to expand and feature UK talent in the future.

Victor Levy-Lasne, Co-Founder, Mix With Masters said:We are proud to announce an exciting new partnership with the Music Producers Guild Awards. Through this collaboration, Mix With The Masters aims to continue shining a light on the creatives that are driving our music culture forward. We look forward to the awards ceremony in April, where we will celebrate all of the remarkable talent and achievements of the British industry.”

Dolby will also be headline sponsor again with others confirmed including, PPL – PPL Present The MPG Award For Outstanding Contribution To UK Music, Flare Audio – Producer Of The Year Category, Audio Note – Inspiration Award and AMS Neve – Recording Engineer of the Year Award and PACE – Rising Star (breakthrough) Award.

Jane Gillard, Head of Music Partnerships, Europe for Dolby said: “We are thrilled to continue our partnership with the Music Producers Guild Awards for the third consecutive year. Dolby is deeply committed to championing excellence and innovation in music, and the MPG Awards provide an exceptional platform to celebrate the remarkable achievements of the industry. Here’s to another year of honouring excellence and pushing the limits in music production.” 

This year’s awards’ eligibility period is for releases from 1st October 2022 to 30th September 2023.

In a change to the criteria this year for ‘Studio of The Year’ any studio that has won in the last 3 years will be deemed ineligible. Ineligible studios for 2024 are: 2023 winner RAK Studios. 2022 winner Abbey Road Studios, 2021 Winner Parr Street Studios.

Submissions are the first stage in the MPG’s thorough Awards process. Once names are submitted and checked as eligible against each Award criterion, MPG Full Members vote to create a shortlist, which will be presented to the judging panel and announced to the press and public in March. Winners are then announced at the ceremony.

MPG Executive Director, Matt Taylor, said: “After an amazing sell out show last year, we’re excited to present what is going to be our biggest and best yet. It’s clear that the MPG Awards is now firmly one of the premier events of the awards calendar. Ours is the only ceremony in the UK which celebrates the best and brightest in all areas of music production. So, with a growing venue, audience, and now partnerships, this year’s event will establish the MPG Award’s identity as the premier event for music production. We look forward to seeing you all at The Troxy in April 2024.”

Previous MPG award winners include Paul Epworth (Adele), Nile Rodgers, FKA Twigs, Marta Salogni (Björk, Animal Collective, Anna Meredith and Bon Iver), Fraser T Smith, Kid Harpoon, Francine Perry, Matt Taylor, Dr Susan Rodgers (Prince) and Joan Armatrading.

The ceremony will take place at The Troxy on 25th April 2024 with the pre-drinks reception sponsored by Apogee. Tickets are on sale now via the MPG website.

Contact for sponsorship opportunities.


The MPG 2024 Awards categories are as follows:

Producer of the Year sponsored by Flare Audio

Writer-Producer of the Year sponsored by Novation

Breakthrough Producer of the Year

Self-Producing Artist sponsored by Focusrite Scarlett

Recording Engineer of the Year sponsored by AMS Neve

Rising Star (Breakthrough) sponsored by PACE Anti-Piracy, Inc

Mix Engineer of the Year

Mastering Engineer of the Year

Vocal Producer of the Year

Unsung Hero sponsored by Musicians Union

Studio of the Year sponsored by Neumann

Original Score Recording of the Year

Album of the Year

Dolby Atmos Mixer of The Year sponsored by Dolby

Gifted Awards

The MPG Inspiration Award sponsored by Audio Note

The MPG Icon Award sponsored by Solid State Logic

The MPG Special Recognition Award

PPL Presents The MPG Award For Outstanding Contribution To UK Music

The MPG is the voice of music production. Representing engineers, producers and recording studios, supporting success and well-being by upholding value and fighting for fairness, whatever their background.

MPG Members…

To keep up to date with all MPG News and Events, please check back regularly.