news category MPG Awards created 14 December 2018

The Shortlists For The MPG Awards 2019!

Following a record number of submissions, the Music Producers Guildis delighted to announce the names of those shortlisted for its 2019 Awards, which will take place in London on February 28th next year.

For the second year running, female producers and engineers have made a major impact on the UK’s recording industry and their skills and talents have not gone unrecognised. Over a third of those shortlisted are women and the three names shortlisted for the MPG’s 2019 Breakthrough Engineer category are all women – Cecile Desnos, Dani Bennett Spraggand Rhiannon Mair.

Catherine Marks, the MPG’s 2018 Producer of the Year winner, says: “The MPG Awards are such a great event in our year as it gives us an opportunity to recognise the outstanding achievements of our engineering and producer community. It was such an honour to win Producer of the Year in 2018, especially in a year where so many other women were acknowledged and awarded. I am looking forward to the MPG Awards next year and wish everyone who is nominated the best of luck.”

Other notable names on the 2019 shortlist include Cam Blackwood, Dave Eringaand James Ford, who are in the running for the Producer of the Year Award; Four Tet (Kieran Hebden), Jon Hopkins andTori Amoswho are shortlisted in the recently introduced Self-Producing Artist category and David Byrne, Greg Kurstinand Donald Glover (Childish Gambino) and Ludwig Goranssonwho are shortlisted in the International Producer category. The range of genres and artists represented by all those shortlisted is more varied than ever and includes some of the music industry’s most successful and critically acclaimed names such as Clean Bandit, Jess Glynne, Dua Lipa, Liam Gallagher andRoyal Blood.

Now in its 11th year, the MPG Awards feature 16 award categories that celebrate the best and brightest talent in music production, along with the industry’s rising stars. Previous award winners have included Sir George Martin CBE, FKA Twigs, Roni Size, Sylvia Massy, Brian Eno, Trevor Horn and Dave Stewart.

Final judging for the 2019 Awards will take place at Abbey Road Studios on December 4th 2018 and the winners will be announced at the Awards ceremony at Grosvenor House, Park Lane, London, where broadcaster and breakfast show presenter Shaun Keavenywill be the host.

The shortlists for each of the MPG 2019 Awards categories (in no particular order) are as follows:

UK Producer Of The Year, sponsored by Flare Audio
Cam Blackwood
Dave Eringa
James Ford

Recording Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by AMS Neve
Guy Massey
Matt Wiggins
Sean Genockey

Mix Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Miloco Studios
Cenzo Townshend
David Wrench
Mark ‘Spike’ Stent

Re-mixer Of The Year, sponsored by Synchro Arts
Matthew Herbert

Breakthrough Producer Of the Year, sponsored by Focusrite
Dilip Harris
Mark Rankin
Rhiannon Mair

Self-Producing Artist Of The Year, sponsored by Spitfire Audio
Four Tet (Kieran Hebden)
Jon Hopkins
Tori Amos

Breakthrough Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Genelec
Cecile Desnos
Dani Bennett Spragg
Rhiannon Mair

International Producer Of The Year, sponsored by RME
David Byrne
Donald Glover (Childish Gambino) and Ludwig Goransson
Greg Kurstin

Mastering Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Kii Audio
John Davis
Mandy Parnell
Tim Young

UK Album Of The Year, sponsored by Universal Audio
Arctic Monkeys: ‘Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino’
Everything Everything: ‘A Fever Dream’
Nadine Shah: ‘Holiday Destination’

UK Single Song Release Of The Year, sponsored by Shure
Anna Calvi: ‘Don’t Beat The Girl Out Of My Boy’
George Ezra: ‘Shotgun’
The 1975: ‘Love It If We Made It’

The A&R Award, sponsored by DAFT Studios
Briony Turner
Gilles Peterson
Holly Manners

Studio Of The Year, sponsored by Soundgas
British Grove Studios
Urchin Studios

The MPG 2019 Awards categories in the gift of the MPG are:

The MPG Inspiration Award, sponsored by Audio Note
PPL Present The MPG Award For Outstanding Contribution To UK Music, sponsored by PPL
The Special Recognition Award, sponsored by Steinberg

Tickets for the 2019 MPG Awards are now on sale. For price information and bookings, please follow this link:

Sponsorship opportunities to suit all budgets are also availablefor this exciting event. Companies that would like to discuss this should contact MPG Awards Event Organiser Adam Cuthbertson.
Telephone:+44 (0) 207 127 2010.

MPG Members…

To keep up to date with all MPG News and Events, please check back regularly.