news category All News, MPG Awards created 28 March 2022


The Music Producers Guild is excited to reveal the shortlist for its 2022 Awards, which will take place on 9th June 2022.

Today, the MPG revealed the shortlist for the 2022 MPG awards. In their 14th year, the awards celebrate the best of British Production talent working behind the scenes in the British music industry.

Following a record number of open submissions from the general public, MPG members have again voted to shortlist three of their peers in each of the 13 awards categories.

The prestigious Producer of The Year category is being contested by last year’s winner Inflo (Adele, Little Simz), veteran producer Dave Eringa (Manic Street Preachers) and 2020 Breakthrough Producer of the Year winner, Marta Salogni (Dreamwife, Anna Meredith) featuring in this category for the first time this year.

Two new award categories and the return of the Unsung Hero Award 

2022 sees the return of the Unsung Hero Award, the only category open to anyone in the industry,  which sees nominations for #BrokenRecord campaigner Tom Gray, Charlatans frontman Tim Burgess, for his #TimsTwitterListening Parties that boosted artists and entertained us all during the lockdown, and veteran string arranger and composer, Sally Herbert, who has worked across genres from Florence and the Machine, Mumford and Sons to Elvis and the RPO. 

There are also two new categories: Vocal Producer of the Year and the Rising Star award. The new Rising Star category replaces the previous breakthrough engineer category to include early-career recording, mix and mastering engineers, in an effort to highlight more of the new talent rising up through the industry.

The remaining two categories are in the gift of the MPG and will be announced ahead of the ceremony in June.

Last year’s ceremony was cancelled because Covid and winners were presented their awards sponsored by Shure at the MPG Christmas Party or by post. The board wishes to thank the outgoing MPG Awards Managing Director, legendary producer and educator, Tony Platt, for his many years of service in organising the awards, and his support to the board and the Guild more generally.

Previous MPG award winners include Paul Epworth (Adele), Nile Rodgers, FKA Twigs, Catherine Marks (Foals, Alanis Morissette) and Dr Susan Rodgers (Prince). 


Contact for sponsorship opportunities.


The shortlists for each of the MPG 2022 Awards categories are as follows:

Producer of the Year

Sponsored by Flare Audio

Dave Eringa


Marta Salogni

Writer-Producer of the Year

Sponsored by Session

Hannah V


Richard Turvey

Breakthrough Producer of the Year

Chris Taylor

Fiona Cruickshank

Hannah V

Self-Producing Artist

Sponsored by Shure

The Anchoress (Catherine Anne Davies)

Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes (Dean Richardson)


Recording Engineer of the Year

Sponsored by AMS Neve

Chris Taylor

Fiona Cruickshank

Matt Wiggins

Rising Star

Sponsored by Pace iLok

Jonny Breakwell

Luke Pickering

Matt Taylor

Mix Engineer of the Year

Sponsored by Miloco

Dan Grech-Marguerat

Guy Massey

Manon Grandjean

Mastering Engineer of the Year

Katie Tavini

Kevin Tuffy

Matt Colton

Vocal Producer of the Year

Sponsored by Synco Arts

Cameron Gower Poole

Charlie Andrew

Lorna Blackwood

Unsung Hero

Sally Herbert

Tim Burgess

Tom Gray

Studio of the Year

Sponsored by Dolby

Abbey Road Studios

The Church Studios 

The Pool

Original Score Recording of the Year

Lisey’s Story (Apple TV+ Original Series Soundtrack)’

Composed & Produced by

Clark (aka Chris Clark)

Engineered and Mixed by

Tom Bailey

 ‘Rebecca (Music from the Netflix Film)’

Composed & Produced by

Clint Mansell

Engineered and Mixed by

Geoff Foster 

The Trial Of The Chicago 7 (Music From The Netflix Film)’

Composed & Produced by

Daniel Pemberton,

Engineered and Mixed by

Sam Okell

Album of the Year

Sponsored by Avid

Arlo Parks: ‘Collapsed in Sunbeams’

Produced by

Gianluca Buccellati (tracks 2,4-7,8-10),

Arlo Parks (tracks 1,11,12), Paul Epworth( tracks 3,12), Bad sounds (track 11),

Engineered by

Gianluca Buccellati (tracks 2,4-7,8-10),

Sam Petts-Davies (tracks 4,5,7,8), MacIntyre (tracks 2,12)  Arlo Parks (track 1) Jackum Nichols-Marcy (track 1), Bad Sounds (track 11),

Mixed by

David Wrench

Little Simz: ‘Sometimes I Might Be Introvert’

Produced by

Inflo (1-19),

Co-produced with Miles James (track 10),

Co-produced with Jakwob (track 12),

Engineered by

Ben Baptie and Richard Woodcraft

Mixed by Ben Baptie and Richard Woodcraft 

Wolf Alice: ‘Blue Weekend’

Produced by

Markus Dravs,

Engineered by

Ian Berryman, 

Mixed by

Mark Stent

MPG Members…

To keep up to date with all MPG News and Events, please check back regularly.