news category MPG Awards created 11 November 2016

The Shortlists for The MPG Awards 2017!


We’re excited and very pleased to announce the shortlists for the MPG Awards 2017! We think you’ll be excited too, when you see the varied lists of contenders.

The shortlists, as voted by Full Members of the Music Producers Guild are as follows:


MPG Awards 20127 white logo (small)UK Producer Of The Year, sponsored by Prism Sound

Fraser T. Smith
Nigel Godrich
Paul Epworth

International Producer Of The Year, sponsored by British Grove Studios

Garret ‘Jacknife’ Lee
Josh Homme
Tony Visconti

Breakthrough Producer Of The Year, sponsored by Novation

Andrew Hunt
Brett Cox
Joel Laslett Pott

Self-Producing Artist Of The Year, sponsored by Spitfire Audio

James Blake
Jeff Lynne
Spring King (aka Tarek Musa)

Recording Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by AMS Neve

Guy Massey
Mark Rankin
Richard Woodcraft

Breakthrough Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Genelec

Andrew Hunt
Jack Ruston
Manon Grandjean

Mix Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Solid State Logic

Cenzo Townshend
Mark ‘Spike’ Stent
Tom Elmhirst

Mastering Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by SADiE

Barry Grint
John Davis
Mandy Parnell

Re-mixer Of The Year, sponsored by Kazbar Systems

Disclosure (Howard & Guy Lawrence)
Matthew Herbert

UK Album Of The Year, sponsored by Universal Audio

David Bowie: ‘Black Star’
Michael Kiwanuka: ‘Love And Hate’
Radiohead: ‘A Moon Shaped Pool’

UK Single Song Release Of The Year, sponsored by Shure

Calvin Harris feat. Rihanna: ‘This Is What You Came For’
Radiohead: ‘Burn The Witch’
ZAYN: ‘Pillowtalk’

Studio Of The Year, sponsored by G-Technology and Jigsaw24

Abbey Road Studios
British Grove Studios
RAK Studios

The A&R Award, sponsored by AIM

Bart McDonagh (Domino Records)
Nigel Reeve (Warner Music International)
Toby L & Tim Dellow (Transgressive Records)

The official MPG press release:

The Music Producers Guild Announces its 2017 Awards Shortlists! 

This prestigious annual event will take place in London on Wednesday February 16th 2017 and will be presented by Absolute Radio DJ Christian O’Connell.

London, UK. November 15th 2016: Tony Visconti, Paul Epworth, Fraser T. Smith and Nigel Godrich are among a host of internationally acclaimed producers vying for gongs at the 2017 Music Producers Guild Awards, which take place in London next year.

The 2017 Shortlist, which was announced today, was fiercely contested with a record number of MPG Full Members casting votes. This has resulted in a strong array of candidates reflecting a wealth of creative talent across many different genres. Final judging will take place on December 5th and the winners will be announced at the Awards ceremony on February 16th at the prestigious Grosvenor House, Park Lane, London.

The newly introduced Self-Producing Artist category was particularly hard fought and the three who made it onto the Shortlist are James Blake, Jeff Lynne and Tarek Musa of Spring King. Other notable entries include David Bowie’s Black Star, Michael Kiwanuka’s Love and Hate and Radiohead’s A Moon Shaped Pool, all of which are shortlisted for UK Album of the Year.

Now in its ninth year, the Music Producers Guild Awards will feature 16 awards categories, recognising the best and brightest names in music production. Previous award winners have included Sir George Martin CBE, Youth, FKA Twigs, Brian Eno, Catherine Marks, Trevor Horn and Dave Stewart.

Tony Platt, MPG Awards Group Director, says: “The MPG Awards are totally unique because they reflect the UK music industry’s incredible wealth of creative talent and also the respect we all have for our colleagues. The roles of producers and engineers are now universally recognised and we can pat ourselves on the back for championing that recognition. The support and encouragement that these production teams give to artists is priceless and should be shouted about at every opportunity.”


Tickets for the MPG Awards event on February 16th, 2017 at Grosvenor House are available here.

There are still some sponsorship opportunities available.
Please email Joe Edwards at OffBeat.


MPG Members…

To keep up to date with all MPG News and Events, please check back regularly.