Knowledge Bank

news category created 8 November 2015 written by Dan Cox

The Short Lists for the MPG Awards 2016!

UK Producer Of The Year, sponsored by The BRIT Awards

Charlie Andrew (Alt-J: ‘Every Other Freckle’)
Mark Ronson (Mark Ronson ‘Uptown Special”)
Mike Crossey (Wolf Alice ‘My Love Is Cool’)
Tom Dalgety (Royal Blood: ‘Royal Blood’)

International Producer Of The Year, sponsored by Pro Tools Expert

Bjork (Bjork ‘Vulnicura)’)
Max Martin (The Weeknd ‘Can’t Feel My Face’)
Robert John ‘Mutt’ Lange (Muse ‘Drones’)

Breakthrough Producer Of The Year, sponsored by Focusrite

Catherine Marks (Sunset Sons ‘Blondie’)
FKA Twigs (Tahliah Barnett) (FKA Twigs ‘LP1’)
Neil Comber (Django Django ‘First Light’)

Recording Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by AMS Neve

Dan Cox (Laura Marling ‘Short Movie’)
Guy Massey (Palma Violets: ‘Danger In The Club’)
Olga Fitzroy (Eliot Sumner ‘I Followed You Home’)

Breakthrough Engineer Of The Year

Ben Baptie (Lianne La Havas ‘Blood’)
Brett Cox (Marika Hackman ‘We Slept At Last’)
Drew Bang (Slaves ‘Are You Satisfied?’)

Mix Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Solid State Logic

Cenzo Townshend (The Maccabees: ‘Marks To Prove It’)
Craig Silvey (Florence And The Machine ‘How Big, How Blue, How Beautiful’)
David Wrench (Hot Chip ‘Why Make Sense?’)

Mastering Engineer Of The Year

Barry Grint (Bert Jansch ‘Bert Jansch’ 2015 Remaster)
John Davis (Led Zeppelin ‘Presence’ 2015 Remaster)
Mandy Parnell (Jamie XX ‘In Colour’

Re-mixer Of The Year, sponsored by Prism Sound

Four Tet (Kieran Hebden) (Hot Chip: ‘Need you now – Percussions Edit’)
UNKLE (James Lavelle) (London Grammar: ‘Hey Now – UNKLE remix’)
Jungle (Shura: ‘Indecision – Jungle Remix’)

UK Album Of The Year

‘LP1’ – FKA Twigs
‘Uptown Special’ – Mark Ronson
‘Royal Blood’ – Royal Blood

UK Single Song Release Of The Year, sponsored by Shure

‘Regret’ – Everything Everything
‘Pendulum’ – FKA Twigs
‘Ten Tonne Skeleton’ – Royal Blood

Studio Of The Year, sponsored by Avid

AIR Studios
Strongroom Studios
Urchin Studios

The A&R Award

Chris Briggs
Ollie Hodge

Congratulations to all and well done to the hard working MPG folks getting this all together behind the scenes, it gets better every year and is an inspiration to all in the industry.